Leave a comment

A photoblog?

Well, I hadn’t really thought about it, but I’ve had a couple of requests to start a photoblog about my holiday in England. Granted, it was only about a week and a half, but being a photographer girl, I have a lot to show for that short amount of time.

I have to wait a bit for the rest of my photos to be developed, before I can fully begin this blog. Perhaps that will give me some time to figure out precisely how this photoblog thing will work. I haven’t got a clue!

I should explain, I’ve always, ALWAYS wanted to go to England. I’ve tried to figure out a way to get there on a more permanant basis (or, at least, half a year.) Since that’s not the easiest thing for a lowly American to do, I had to settle for a vacation in England. I’m not well-to-do, financially speaking, but I had a bit of money tucked away. I looked at some plane fares, just to see what I was up against, and ended up finding some flight prices that were around the dollar amount I had saved up. It seemed like a spur of the moment decision to some people, but to many, they knew it was a long time coming.

So, I bought my ticket the last week of July (around my birthday) and realized I had a lot to do in order to get ready for this holiday. I had only ever been on one plane before – a forty-five minute flight from Memphis to Atlanta, when I was fourteen. I didn’t have a travel bag. I didn’t have a decent coat (I was, after all, traveling to England in November.) I didn’t even have a passport!

That’s where this photoblog will begin, with the momentous event of obtaining a US passport. It was a BIG deal for me.

August 3, 2006: I went to the local Chancery Clerk’s office, to get my passport application all squared away. I then put it in the mail, praying that it would arrive to the passport agency safely and in a timely manner.

passport application, pre-posting

August 23, 2006: I had my passport in hand!
(hey, the government can be efficient after all!)

passport in hand

Please bear with me. I don’t know if photoblogs are supposed to be this “wordy.” I’ll do my research to make sure I’m doing this thing up right.

Leave a Reply

