Leave a comment

Amanda Goes to England, Vol. 4: 28 August 2016

Mmmhmmm. I photographed my coffees in London. So typical.

I am going to admit here and now that I will be showing you more tourist-type photos from my 2016 trip to London than I had planned on, because I revisited more tourist spots than I intended to this time. Such as going back to Trafalgar Square. Granted, I always go there to photograph what’s on the Fourth Plinth, since it’s been something different every time.

(Also, I’ve come to realise that I basically turned my real cameras into toy cameras by shooting a lot of expired film in London.)

Fourth Plinth sculpture: “Gift Horse” by Hans Haacke

When at Trafalgar Square, one goes to the National Gallery. Normally I wouldn’t have visited the National Gallery again, but I must admit that the fact that they’d begun to allow photography in the museum (which has not been the case any time I’ve been there, dating back to my first visit in 2006) lured me in. Once I got there, I realised that the lighting wasn’t all that great for photography (especially since I was using expired film for the most part haha) but I did some anyway 😉 I normally try to keep track of which pieces I photograph so I can link to info about them once I blog about my trip, but I didn’t do a great job on this visit to the National Gallery…

Whistlejacket by George Stubbs  

Large painting in the middle: “The Adoration of the Shepherds” by Guido Reni

The real reason I keep going back to the National Gallery: DA VINCI
The Virgin of the Rocks” by Leonardo da Vinci

Finally, some shots for my “People in Museums” series!

After leaving Trafalgar, I sort of just walked for awhile. My plan was to eventually make it to the river, but I never managed to get there. I did find Soho and Chinatown though, places I have never been before.

M&M’s World, Leicester Square

Ed’s Easy Diner, Soho

Then there was more aimless wandering (fascinating details, Amanda!) until I found Carnaby Street, which is a hip shopping district in Soho. I did my good deed for the day there again by taking a photo of a family who were trying to cram all members of the party into an arm-length selfie. They were appreciative for the help. I hope I at least got some good photos there myself, since it’s quite a colourful part of town.

 Not much else to report for the day – I hadn’t slept well the night before, so heading back to the hostel after a day of walking was a fitting end to the day!

Photos taken with my Pentax Espio Mini and Fuji GA645i

Leave a Reply

