Leave a comment

Amanda Goes to England, Vol. 4: 4 September 2016

Last day in London!

Two pictures of my Caffe Nero breakfast, taken on two different cameras?

Sunnies in the Caffe Nero refrigerated bakery display case

On my way 

I decided to visit Tate Britain, which is a sister museum to the Tate Modern, a place I have visited multiple times. I had been briefly in 2006 but didn’t get much out of it. Kayla and her maid of honour said that the Tate Britain had gotten cooler, so i thought I might as well give it another try. I enjoyed it much better this time! (Like, honestly, I wonder if I even ventured inside when I went in 2006?? I have a clear memory of being AT Tate Britain but not much memory of it otherwise.) They actually had a fair amount of modern art too. I did more photography in that museum than I did in others this visit (not that I spent much time in museums this time either.) I guess I wanted make up for photo deficits from other days! I’ll try to include information on the pieces I photographed, if I can.

“Rang Baranga” by Rasheed Araeen

“Rang Baranga,” “Ananasis I” by William Tucker,” “Piano” by Richard Smith

“England” by Gilbert & George

“King and Queen” by Henry Moore

“Miss Gwen Ffrangcon-Davies as Isabella of France” by Walter Richard Sickert

“biting” by Andrew Lord

“Liar Liar” by Nicholas Pope

“Break Point” by Fiona Banner

Piece in the middle: “Untitled [8/71]” by Jeremy Moon
Piece on the right: “Destruction of the National Front” by Eddie Chambers

“After Lunch” by Patrick Caulfield

“Relation of Aesthetic Choice to Life Activity (Function) of the Subject” by Billy Apple

“Reclining Figure” by Henry Moore

Performance art, “Historical Dances in an Antique Setting” by Pablo Bronstein

People in Museums, featuring “My Parents”by David Hockney

Statue is “A Boy at Play” by Sir William Groscombe John

Circular painting is “And the Sea Gave Up the Dead Which Were in It” by Frederic, Lord Leighton

“Diana of the Uplands” by Charles Wellington Furse

Loved this ballerina’s Union Jack tutu in “Rule Britannia” by Spencer Gore 

“Lycidas” by James Havard Thomas  

I was DYING over the design elements in the museum itself

“Portrait of Margaret, Duchess of Argyle” by Gerald Leslie Brockhurst

Sculpture in the foreground: “Moebius Strip” by John Ernest
Painting in the background is “Curvilinear Structure (Abakum)” by Jeffrey Steele

I left Tate Britain and THOUGHT I was going to a place on a nearby  map that showed things in walking distance of Tate Britain. That never happened though.

I kept walking and walking, and I guess because I ran into a part of town that is less touristy, I wasn’t finding maps or other markers showing more specific directions to where I was trying to go. I ended up in a residential that I just kept getting deeper into with no end in sight!

Like I said, because it’s not a tourist area, I was REALLY having a hard time figuring out how to exit this part of town, so after I wasted a lot of time walking, I turned back and found a bus heading in the direction I needed to go with a final destination I recognised. Luckily, I didn’t have to ride the bus very many stops because I saw the Houses of Parliament and hopped off the bus. Literally used Parliament as a landmark, because I knew where I was when I saw that!

I continued walking along the river, hoping that I wasn’t being a bore by photographing the landmarks there again!

Wedding photos being taken with the iconic background

They were making a video wishing someone a”happy wedding” from what I could tell

One of my favourite monuments in London: Monument to the women of World War II. From the Wikipedia page about it:

The bronze monument stands 22 feet (6.7 m) high, 16 feet (4.9 m) long and 6 feet (1.8 m) wide.The lettering on the sides replicates the typeface used on war time ration books. There are 17 individual sets of clothing and uniforms around the sides, symbolising the hundreds of different jobs women undertook in World War II and then gave back for the homecoming men at the end of the war. These outfits include uniforms as worn by the Women’s Land Army, Women’s Royal Naval Service, a nursing cape, a police overall and a welding mask.

Horse Guards Parade

Guards Memorial, behind Horse Guards Parade

Victoria Memorial and Buckingham Palace

Gates at Buckingham Palace

Eventually ended up back in the Swiss Cottage ‘hood so I could get some dinner and prepare for departure in the morning.

Bench outside my hostel

North Star pub near my hostel

Photos taken with my Fuji GA645i, Pentax Espio Mini, and Ricoh FF-1

Leave a Reply

